jump to navigation

An Open Letter to Mr. Obama January 14, 2009

Posted by Ann Bertorelli in Personal Observations.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

obama by jetheriot1

Dear Mr. Obama,

As a child of the sixties, I had always dreamed that I would see the day when a person of color or a woman became President of the United States. In 2008 we came close to each of those realities.  Even though I had always hoped for such a thing, I think that deep down I never really thought I would see it happen. But next week (Lord, willing) you will be inaugurated as the 44th president of the United States. As Tim Russert often said, “What a country!”

I was behind your candidacy for President even before you were elected and it had nothing to do with the color of your skin. What caught my attention was a speech you gave when you were a junior senator from the state of Illinois-perhaps at the Democratic Convention. I remember listening to your words and hearing something different, something visionary in them. I also remembering knowing at that moment that you would one day be our president. I followed your progress through a demanding campaign. And the night of your election I cried as I listened to your acceptance speech.

All that said, I’m going to state the obvious: you’ve got your work cut out for you. Wow, I would not want your job and I am delighted that you are stepping up to it.

There are a few things I urge you to do as you move through your first four years. First of all, maintain your calmness and optimism in the face all kinds of chaos. Now more than ever we need a cool head since we live in a world where violent and/or immoral acts are committed from a place of uncurbed emotions: hate, altruism, greed, ego, and bigotry, to name a few. So, Mr. Obama, do whatever you need to do to keep your perspective, your sense of humor, and your spiritual center.

I’d also ask that you continue to maintain your practice of surrounding yourself with people who represent a variety of opinions, political leanings and philosophies. My only request is that you leave Ann Coulter out of the mix, please, please, please. There is a limit to my open-mindedness.

I believe that a rich balanced view of the world comes from looking at it from all angles. The problem-solving that you and your staff will constantly be engaged in over the next four years will benefit from a diversity of views and you have demonstrated that you have an appreciation for that. I can even understand your choice of Rick Warren as a part of your inauguration-even though I vehemently disagree with his views. Each of us has a place in this country and it is our diverse views, lifestyles, and preferences that make up the patchwork that is our country. Everyone should be granted our respect and allowed to express their views. (OK, even Ann Coulter.) And it’s your job as President to hold our feet to the fire about our declaration to be a country where everyone’s views can be heard. So, rock on, Mr. Obama. You don’t need me to tell you how to do your job, but I’m behind you all the way.

My final request is huge and if you achieve it you will make history in a new and enlightened way. I urge you to find a different approach to the quagmire of war, terrorism and general unrest in the Middle East. Your predecessor was consistent in his black and white view of us and them. The “War on Terrorism” was not what I and many others in this country thought was right. Please explore other avenues to bring peace to our world. Wars have been going on for centuries and history shows that they are not the way for people to come together in understanding and mutual respect, nor are their outcomes long-lasting. And when you’ve knocked that out, you can turn your attention to Africa–but maybe that’s best left to your second term.

I am not for a moment saying that I have an answer to the many problems that face us; however, I am saying that there’s just got to be a better way. During your campaign, you talked about establishing dialog with various countries and organizations previously disregarded by our diplomatic policy. I hope you won’t depart from that declaration. It’s time that our amazing and influential country led the way in coming to solutions that do not involve dropping bombs on people, invading their countries, and expecting that they will embrace democracy as a way of life. We cannot be so egocentric as to think that because our form of government works for us that all countries should and will embrace it.

Thank you for being willing to step up to the huge job ahead of you, to give up your privacy and autonomy for the next four (maybe eight) years in order to serve your country. Everything happens for a purpose and I know that you are fulfilling your purpose. I will hold you in my prayers and thoughts each day knowing that you will be divinely guided. It’s likely that I won’t always agree with your decisions but I have faith that you will lead us to a better place than we have been in the last few years.

And good luck with the new puppy and living with your mother-in-law for the next four years….

—Amara

Comments»

1. 2fun4u - January 26, 2009

Amara,
I came across your blog today, and feel as though I met my twin. Your thoughts and views on life mirror mine, but your writing is fabulous. Mine, no so much.
So keep writing and blogging, and Rock On Mr Obama!
Diane

edgyangel - January 26, 2009

Diane, thanks for your encouraging words. And so nice to hear from one of the many others who I know have similar feelings and leanings…And let’s hold the intention that Mr. Obama is going to do just fine…


Leave a Reply

