jump to navigation

Change Not Optional January 16, 2011

Posted by Ann Bertorelli in Personal Observations, Political Scene.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

stopsigncclicensebyrjphillips34

Last week the title of my post was Ready, Set, Change. This week I had intended to write about some of my favorite book recommendations. However, following the events of last Saturday in Tucson, I have been immersed in thinking about my country and wondering what the hell is going on.

Yet another terrible story…

I am not prone to awfulizing and making sweeping generalizations about ‘how bad things are,’ since I believe that constantly beating the drum about something creates more of it. That said, I have to say that I am tired to the depths of my soul of hearing of yet another shocking example of meaningless violence.

This post is going to be short (and not so sweet). We may each of us feel that we are not responsible for the actions of a misguided young man. However, we are all part of a national creation of ‘the way things are.’ And that creation has too much room for violence. Violence which takes the place of discussion/dialogue for the sake of understanding and respecting view points that differ from our own. And I know that I am as guilty of that as the next person—and you,my friend could be the next person.

We only want to be around those who think as we do

Lynne McTaggert wrote a very thought-provoking post about where we’ve come. Lynne’s post She said something in that post that has really stuck with me. She says that we only want to be around and respect those who think just as we do. In examining my conscience about that I have come to the conclusion that I have fallen into that way of being—and I need to do something different.

The power of intention

You know how much I write about the power of intention. Well, I think it’s high time that we intended something different for our country. The consciousness of a country can be changed one person at a time, one conversation at a time. While this may seem at times like trying to empty the ocean with a tea cup, I offer that we often don’t know the power of our own efforts and contributions.

I think Americans are better than they way we are currently acting. Wasn’t our country built on the tenet that we are all free to have our own opinions and to express them? It’s high time we got back to focusing on that principle instead of the way we have been…

And no, I don’t feel better now but I will again soon.

–Amara

Comments»

1. michellefrommadison - January 16, 2011

We can only hope and pray she makes a recovery so that Justice can be rendered against her. Had it not been for the negligent actions by Giffords in not having adequate security present after having had substantiated threats documented, she is responsible to the deaths and the injuries to so many of those victims imo.

edgyangel - January 18, 2011

I don’t see it that way. To blame Giffords for the attack against her is a lot like blaming a rape victim for her own rape.


Leave a Reply

