jump to navigation

Plant a Daffodil July 17, 2011

Posted by Ann Bertorelli in Personal Observations, Self-Development.
Tags: , ,
trackback

cccommons byandyhayI came across a story called The Daffodil Principle written by  Jaroldeen Asplund Edwards.  I don’t know if it’ s a true story but it really doesn’t matter because the meaning of the story is so wonderful.

The story is told by a narrator who goes to visit her daughter who then takes her to look at the property of a woman who has transformed her plot of land by planting 50,000 daffodil bulbs over many years. The result was an amazing display of blooms which transfixed and inspirited the people who saw it. For the entire story (which is quite short) follow this link: Daffodil Principle

The main character says

When we multiply tiny pieces of time with small increments of daily effort, we too will find we can accomplish magnificent things. We can change the world.

Small actions can have a big effect

This story resonated with me because I believe that even small actions on our part can change the world in unimaginable and significant ways. One of the guiding principles for me as I coach others is the belief that I am changing the world one conversation at a time.

Before you start poo-pooing (gosh, wonder if I spelled that right) that notion, sit for a moment and think  of the times that someone has pointed out to you something that you said or did that had a profound effect on how they viewed the world or what they chose to do. You know you’ve heard that. And you’ve more than likely only heard a tiny number of the examples that others could come up with.

Here are some examples from my own little world.

  • My friend Jane, who loves to sew, is extraordinarily generous in teaching and working with others who would like to better their skills
  • Annie, my massage therapist, has taught me how to be ‘in my body’ and thus more in touch with how things are with me by using my body as an emotional guidance system.
  • My granddaughter has inspired me to be a stronger woman by her own observations about who she is as she starts the journey to adulthood

Are you aware of who you’re being?

I could go on and on, and so could you. How do you feel when you think that your own actions and words are changing the world? Good? Or a little nervous? If you have a nagging feeling that you may not always be changing the world in the way that you’d like, maybe it’s time to put a little intention behind that.

What kind of impact would you like to have?

Put your thinking cap on…What intention would you like to live into? Maybe it’s demonstrating more kindness than necessary, maybe it’s showing self-reliance or devotion to family. Maybe it’s keeping your lawn in impeccable condition. Whatever it is, know that simply by a little consciousness to your intention, some energy and a few actions behind it, you will have an impact on someone in your world,

How’s that feel?

–Amara

Comments»

1. edgyangel - September 24, 2011

Yes, I am fine. Life has just been taking over. I will be posting again very soon. Thanks for noticing!
Amara

2. Rose - September 24, 2011

Are you okay? Haven’t seen a post in a long time!


Leave a Reply

