jump to navigation

There’s a Reason For That September 25, 2011

Posted by Ann Bertorelli in My Life as I See It, Self-Development, spirituality.
trackback
photo by Larry Thomas

Me looking relaxed and peaceful...

 

First of all, thanks to those of you who have emailed to see if I’m still alive and healthy. I am –just had a touch of the writer’s block this summer but I’ve decided to steam through it. Enough is too much!

A visit to Louisville

I arrived in Louisville KY yesterday to visit my  ‘boyfriend’ (somehow boyfriend strikes me as a weird term after the age of 35—how about inamorato?) for a week. I was supposed to have arrived on Friday afternoon ,rather than Saturday afternoon, so I was about 24 hours late. There was a whole lotta rain going on in Philly where I flew from and also in Louisville where I was going. And for some strange reason, USAir simply cancelled the flight, with the next opportunity to fly out being Saturday morning at 6:30 am—way too early for any creature to have to get up considering that one has to be at least an hour early for a flight these days—an hour and a half to be safe. So I got to stay in an airport hotel and get up at 3:45 (I shudder to recall it) in order to catch the hotel shuttle to the airport.

And the story has a little more to it than that. When the shuttle driver came to pick me up so I could check into the hotel, he inadvertently locked his keys in the van. Picture the van idling in pouring -down rain, my bags on the ground next to the van, and other people waiting two stops down for the shuttle to pick them up. The driver used his ingenuity and before too long (about 15 minutes) we were on the road. The folks two stops down were unhappy—could not figure out why it should take so long at terminal B/C to pick up one person. I smiled enigmatically and kept my mouth shut and so did the driver.

And there’s more…

There are two more points to complete the saga, the first being that when the new flight was ready to take off for Charlotte (I’d had a non-stop originally), engines revving, crew in place, the pilot clicked on to tell us that the Charlotte airport had just been closed to incoming traffic because of fog–Holy Chicago! We finally took off a half hour later and I arrived safely in L-ville. The next little inconvenience happened when Larry’s car suddenly quit in the middle of a parking lot and refused to start up again. He thinks it’s the fuel pump.

So it’s been an interesting couple of days. And through it all I have totally shocked myself at how much equanimity I have been able to maintain. I’ve been smiling mildly at each new occurrence. And that’s about the extent of my reaction. If I wasn’t inside my own head I’d have probably thought I’d had a frontal lobotomy.

Practicing surrender

But no, this is me practicing surrender. I’ve just decided that it’s too painful to get all worked up about things I can’t change. I know there’s a lot to be said  for venting and blowing off steam but that takes a lot of energy. I’ve been busy this last month and I want to conserve my energy.

I do believe that everything happens for a reason and so I spent some time trying to figure out who or what was blocking my graceful and easy entrance into Louisville. I got nowhere with that. So I’ve come to a conclusion about trying to figure out the purpose for everything that happens in life.

Asking why

Yes, I believe we are in ‘Earth School’ to learn life lessons that help us to grow spiritually and emotionally. And yes, I think it’s important to examine our lives to determine what we learn through our experiences. But sometimes you can just make yourself crazy with that. “Why did this happen?”, “Did I attract this disaster into my life?” “What lesson should I learn?”  All good questions but there comes a time to just give it a rest. Yep, there is a reason,a lesson in most things, I guess. But what if it just happened because God burped, or the Universe felt like playing a prank, or for no good reason at all? Perhaps I just need to leave it alone and insights will come in a week, a month, or a year.

Give it a rest

So I’ve come to the conclusion that there are times to just take a rest from  the self-imposed rigors of living your life. Do what you can do, with the tools you’ve got at hand and then just surrender…

Works for me….

—Amara

Comments»

1. Karen Talavera - September 25, 2011

Reminds me of an article I just read in Ode magazine. If we could ever even know/see all the real “why” ‘s for half of what happens the matrix would be so complex it would overwhelm us, so yes, surrender is the lesson. As one spiritual teacher has been known to say “Why’s aren’t wise”. We can get to caught up in our heads asking and wondering and trying to figure things out that it takes us out of our hearts. Kudos for staying grounded (pun intended!) during all this.

edgyangel - September 26, 2011

I think the pun is very appropriate here!

2. informationforager - September 25, 2011

I like the “earth school” concept. A good post with a good message. Keep Writing. Keep Blogging. Thanks.

edgyangel - September 25, 2011

Thank you for the support and encouragement and I will definitely keep blogging…


Leave a Reply

